Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants

My recommendations for tasty meals in Berlin

“Old school”eating at Die Schule

Leave a comment


schule (2)Old school not for the food but for the place, it used to be a school, so you eat in an old school. Die Schule is a German restaurant in Prenzlauer Berg, on Kastanienalle, close to U Eberswalder Straße.

I walked by this place a couple of times and got intrigued by the name. After checking it on line and seeing the good reviews, I took a few friends to see it for ourselves. The place is very lovely and the staff super friendly.
They have an interesting 3-course menu with quite a lot of choice. I schule (9)personnally did not take it but had first the carpaccio with wild herbs, very tasty. I then had the Flammkuchen, excellent, served traditionnally on a wood plate and cut, almost as good as in Alsace. I finished with a very nice brownie with physalis ice cream.
Some friends had the “German tapas” which are basically mini sized German specialties, ideal if you want to try different stuffs. Others had the wildboar, the risotto starter, the panacotta, the creme brulee. We were all delighted, the food is excellent!

The only negative point would be that we had to wait quite a long time between plates, could be because we were 2 big groups. But it was still worth the wait. And I’ll for sure go back, I was also tempted by the schnitzle, the Käse Spätzle and the venison dishes.

schule (1) schule (3)

schule (4) schule (5)

schule (7) schule (8)

schule (11) schule (14)

schule (13)

Author: yummyberlin

Welcome on Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants, my compilation of good places to eat (and sometimes to drink too) in the German Capital. I am presenting only places I visited and liked, hopefully it could help some people out there looking for a tasty meal. From time to time, I'll share as well recipes and restaurant tips in places I visited.

Leave a Reply

