Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants

My recommendations for tasty meals in Berlin

Cheese Berlin 2014

Leave a comment


IMG_2187Every year, early November, the Markthalle Neun in Kreuzberg hosts Cheese Berlin, a big cheese festival with dozens of cheese stands.

The entrance fee is €2 and you’re also welcomed by a nice cheesy smell. First stop, right by the entrance on Eisenbahnstraße side, Sweet dreams are made of cheese was selling their Raclette plates, got an Alpen one, with potatoes and Bündnerfleisch (air-died beef), soooo tasty!

IMG_2186Another obligatory stop when I’m at Markthalle Neun, is the permanent Austrian cheese and ham vendor, I love their Bergkäse (Mountain cheese) and smoked ham. La Käserie was also there and I got a portion of their tasty Tartiflette, did not buy any cheese, I prefer going to their store, less crowdy.

I walked around the stands and tasted and bought cheeses. I even discovered a good Swedisch cheese, Wrångebäck, you never think about Swedisch cheeses but it’s quite good. I got myself cheeses from France, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Austrian. And to go with them, Italian bread and Brandeburger bio potatoes. I won’t need to buy any cheese for a couple of weeks I guess!

This was a very nice market, heaven for cheese lovers. Can’t wait for Cheese 2015!

IMG_2183 IMG_2184 IMG_2185 IMG_2188

IMG_2189 IMG_2190 IMG_2191 IMG_2192

IMG_2193 IMG_2194 IMG_2195 IMG_2196 IMG_2197

Author: yummyberlin

Welcome on Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants, my compilation of good places to eat (and sometimes to drink too) in the German Capital. I am presenting only places I visited and liked, hopefully it could help some people out there looking for a tasty meal. From time to time, I'll share as well recipes and restaurant tips in places I visited.

Leave a Reply

