Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants

My recommendations for tasty meals in Berlin

Daitokai, a Japanese show in Europa Center

Leave a comment


daitokai1I’ve been wanting to try Japanese cuisine for some time now, not liking fish, it’s not that easy since most of places only serve sushis. So I looked up and found about Daitokai in the Europa Center in Charlottenburg.

The place is lovely, exclusively Japanese staff, a small pond inside, all tables have a cooking area, since most of the dishes are cooked directly at your table, a cook comes and cooks in front of you. a real show!

The staff is very friendly, the waitresses are wearing kimonos, sometimes communication is complicated, some of the cooks speak broken German, so when the guests also speak broken German, it can be funny. 🙂 I had a Japanese cocktail with sake, cointreau and vodka, was quite nice.

I had a Teppan-Yaki for starter, I chose Toriyaki, chicken with teriyaki sauce. When the cook arrives, he presents us the ingredients and start grilling, When the meat is done, he cuts it (since you have only chopsticks that’s better) and then cooks the sauce on the cooking area. Really something interesting to observe.

For the main course I had some beef, perfectly cooked, really tasty, tender, delicious! Some of my friends had one the plate with sea food and hummers, they loved it. You get also grilled vegetables and a bowl of sticky rice. We all loved our food.

daitokai2For the dessert, it can also become a fire show. I was full so I did not get one, but some of my friends had some flambé ice and crepes, before putting the alcohol on fire, the cook switches the light off  above the table and draws a fire heart. Really impressive moves as well.

The prices are quite high, but for the quality of the food and the fact you get your own cook, it’s really worth it. An excellent spot!

>>PHOTOS<<

Author: yummyberlin

Welcome on Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants, my compilation of good places to eat (and sometimes to drink too) in the German Capital. I am presenting only places I visited and liked, hopefully it could help some people out there looking for a tasty meal. From time to time, I'll share as well recipes and restaurant tips in places I visited.

Leave a Reply

