Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants

My recommendations for tasty meals in Berlin

Cape Town, South African flavors in P-Berg

Leave a comment


capetown1I never thought about South African cuisine until someone recommended Cape Town to me. It’s a nice place in Prenzlauer Berg that does food from South Africa. That was then a real adventure for me.

The menu is quite interesting, lots of fancy meats: crocodile, buffalo, gnu, zebra, antilop, ostridge,… They also do chicken, beef and fish dishes. I first wanted to try one of those big plates with several meats, but it’s for 2 person at least and no one wanted to try it… Too bad! So I decided to try the zebra sirloin steak. The waiting time was ok, seemed long for those who did not have a starter but the place was quite busy as well.

I was really curious about zebra, did not even know you could eat such a meat, the pieces were quite thin and unfortunately too much cooked (asked medium, got it medium-well) but it was quite tasty. Looks kinda like beef but with much stronger taste. It came with thin slices of sweet potatoes (don’t like sweet potatoes so I passed), green beans and bacon banana. When I read bacon banana on the menu I though “yuk”, but I still tried it, very skeptik, and indeed it was not that bad, quite interesting. So I was very satisfied from my choice.

They also have very nice cocktails and desserts, the prices can go quite high, especially for the fancy meats, but it’s woth it. The service was great, the staff really friendly. I’ll sure go back to try other meats.

capetown3 capetown2 capetown4

 

Author: yummyberlin

Welcome on Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants, my compilation of good places to eat (and sometimes to drink too) in the German Capital. I am presenting only places I visited and liked, hopefully it could help some people out there looking for a tasty meal. From time to time, I'll share as well recipes and restaurant tips in places I visited.

Leave a Reply

