Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants

My recommendations for tasty meals in Berlin

Knofel, not a place for vampires

Leave a comment


knofelThe other name of Knofel (in Prenzlauer Berg) is Das Knoblauch Restaurant, litterary “The Garlic Restaurant”. If you don’t like garlic, don’t go there, even the air smells of garlic!

Absolutely everything has garlic in it, the peanuts they gave you with the 1st drinks (well only some drinks have no garlic, my Sex on The Beach was garlic-free), all dishes, they even have garlic ice cream and schnaps! Nobody among us dared try the ice but some had a shot of garlic schnaps, well, just smelling it was awful to me, I like it in my food, but not raw or in my drinks. :D

I had a very tasty piece of beef, prepared with some garlic marinade along with 2 baked potatoes presented as swans, normally it’s 1 potatoe and broccoli, but I don’t like the green stuff, asked them without and they gave me an extra potatoe. With the potatoes comes some sour cream with herb and, guess what?, garlic!

The service was pretty good, the prices fair, the atmosphere ok, all in all a nice spot for garlic lovers.

Author: yummyberlin

Welcome on Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants, my compilation of good places to eat (and sometimes to drink too) in the German Capital. I am presenting only places I visited and liked, hopefully it could help some people out there looking for a tasty meal. From time to time, I'll share as well recipes and restaurant tips in places I visited.

Leave a Reply

