Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants

My recommendations for tasty meals in Berlin

La Cantine des Grands, Nancy, France

Leave a comment


cantine (7)As I was looking online for a nice restaurant in Nancy, I stumbled upon La Cantine des Grands, it’s like a gourmet French school canteen, I found it was brilliant so I suggested my friends we try it out.

It’s located on one end of the city center, just next to a tram stop, very convenient.

We chose a very hot day, they had some fans on, but it was still very warm inside, unfortunately, there is no terace, I guess if we had arrived later when it was less hot that should have been fine.

cantine (2)The design is like a class room on the walls, with lots of maps, the kind we had as kids in French schools. The tables and chairs remind us of those at the canteen, as well as the glasses with our “age” inside, there’s a number on the bottom of the glass and as kids we would say it was our actual age… Yeah, kids are stupid! 😉 I really loved it.

We started with some cocktails, Mojito and Desert de Rose (vodka, orange, cranberry) are great, the “Planche Apéritive” with different pieces of charcuterie (kind of salami, sausages, ham, paté – roughly translated) is really nice. I had the Tartare Auvergnat, beef tartare with blue cheese and nuts, (tasty) homemade fries on the side. It was really really good. The Tartare Parisien, the Carpaccio, the beef piece and the wraps my friends took were also very good.

cantine (6)For dessert, I had a simple mirabelle ice cream (delicious) as I was full, but other desserts except for the fruit salad seemed to be nice as well. The service was good, quite quick, even after a big table arrived, the prices are ok, very friendly staff. I might go back on my next visit to Nancy.

 

cantine (3) cantine (1) cantine (14) cantine (8) cantine (10) cantine (9) cantine (11) cantine (12) cantine (4) cantine (5)

 

 

 

Author: yummyberlin

Welcome on Around Berlin in 80 Restaurants, my compilation of good places to eat (and sometimes to drink too) in the German Capital. I am presenting only places I visited and liked, hopefully it could help some people out there looking for a tasty meal. From time to time, I'll share as well recipes and restaurant tips in places I visited.

Leave a comment